The Ga South Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29  MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region

Ga South Municipal with its Administrative capital Ngleshie Amanfro forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created last year by the President, J.A Kufuor were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 29th of February 2008.

It was established by Legislative Instrument 2134 in July 2012. It lies at the south western part of Accra and occupies a total land area of about 341.838 square kilometers

The Municipality shares boundaries with the Accra Metropolitan Area to the south-east, Ga Central Municipal to south-east, Akwapim South Districts to the north-east, Ga West Municipal  to the east, West Akim Municipal to the north, Awutu Senya District to the West, Awutu Senya East Municipal to the south-east, Gomoa East Districts to the south-west and the Gulf of Guinea to the south.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 350,121 with 172,492 males and 177,629 females.