The Ketu South Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 18 of Municipalities and Districts in the Volta Region.

The Ketu South Municipal established by Legislative Instrument (LI) 1469 of 1989. The Ketu South Municipality lies within latitudes 60 03 north and 60 10 north, and longitude 1 0 6 east and 10 11’east and is located at the south-eastern corner of Ghana with Denu as its capital.

The Municipal shares boundaries with  Ketu North Municipal to the north, the Republic of Togo to the east , the Gulf of Guinea to the south and to the west with Keta Municipal.

In terms of size, it covers a total land area of 261 square kilometres

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 253,122 with 121,277 males and 131,854 females.