The Tema Metropolitan Assembly is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region

Tema, which serves as the Administrative capital of the Tema Metropolitan is a coastal city situated 25 kilometres east of Accra, the national capital. The Greenwich Meridian (00 Longitude) passes through the city of Tema.

Until 1952, when the Government of Ghana decided to develop a deep seaport there, Tema was a small fishing village. Tema became an Autonomous Council in 1974 and was elevated to the status of a Metropolitan Assembly in December, 1990.

The Metropolitan shares boundaries in the northeast with the Shai Osudoku District, south-west by Ledzokuku Municipal, north-west by Adentan Municipal and Ga East Municipal, north by the Akwapim South District and south by the Gulf of Guinea. The Ashaiman Municipal is an in-lock enclave within the Tema Metropolis. The Metropolis covers an area of about 87.8 km2 with Tema as its capital. The Metropolis lies in the coastal savannah zone.

The population of the Metropolis according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 292,773 with 139,958 males and 152,815 females.