The Sene East District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 11 of Municipalities and Districts in the Bono East Region.

Sene East District was created out of the then Sene District (now known as Sene West) on 9th March, 2012 by a Legislative Instrument (LI) 2091 and inaugurated on 28th June, 2012 at Kajaji, the District Capital.

It is about 4240 kilometers from Sunyani, the Regional Capital of Bono. The District is located in the north-eastern corner of the Bono East Region of Ghana.

It covers a vast land area of 4, and shares boundaries with East Gonja Municipal to the north, Krachi West District to the east, Sene West District to the west and Kwahu Afram Plains North District to the south. The large land size could be seen as a potential area for agricultural development.

The population of the District according to the 2021 population and Housing Census stands at 72,081 with 38,433 males and 33,648 females.