Nanumba North Municipal is one of the twenty eight (28) Municipalities and Districts in the Northern Region of Ghana.


It is found in the eastern part of the Northern Region and lies between latitudes 8.5º N and 9.25º N and longitudes 0.57º E and 0.5ºE.


It was created as a separate district in 2004 under LI 1754 when the then Nanumba District was split into two, North and South, with an area of 2260.8 sq/km. The administrative district capital is Bimbilla.


The Municipality shares boundaries with East Gonja Municipal to the west, Yendi Municipal to the north. To the east, it shares its boundary with Zabzugu, the south with Kpandai and to the south east the Nanumba South Districts. The administrative district capital is Bimbilla.


The population of the Municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 141,584 with 69,997 males and 71,587 females.