The Cape Coast Metropolitan is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 22 MMDAs in Central Region.

The Metropolis covers an area of 122 square kilometers and is the smallest metropolis in the country. It is located on longitude 1° 15'W and latitude 5°06'N. It occupies an Area of approximately 124 square kilometres.

With its administrative capital as Cape Coast, The Cape Coast Metropolitan Area is one of the oldest districts in Ghana. It was raised to the status of municipality in 1987 by LI 1373 and upgrade to metropolitan status in 2007 by LI 1927.

Metropolitan   is bounded on the south by the Gulf of Guinea, west by Komenda Edina Eguafo Abrem Municipal, east by the Abura Asebu Kwamankese District and north by the Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira District.

The population of the Metropolis according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 189,925 with 92,790 male and 97,135 female.