Sunyani Municipality with the capital as Sunyani is one of the twenty-nine (29) districts and Municipalities in the Brong Ahafo Region.

The Municipality was established on 10th March, 1989 by a legislative instrument (LI) 1473. This was the period Ghana adopted the District Assembly concept.

The overall goal is to accelerate growth and development in the Municipality. The Sunyani West District was carved from this Municipality on November 2007.

The Sunyani Municipal Assembly covers a total land area of 506.7 Km2. It is located at the heart of Brong Ahafo Region lying between Latitudes 70 20’N and 70 05’N and Longitudes 20 30’W and 20 10’W.

It is bordered on the north by Sunyani West District; west by Dormaa East District south by Asutifi District to the South and east by Tano North District.

The population of the Municipality according to the 2010 Population Housing Census stands at 123,224 with 61,610 males and 61,614