The Akatsi South Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 18 of Municipalities and Districts in the Volta Region.

The Municipality which is located in the south-eastern part of the Volta Region was elevated from a District to a municipality on the 5th October 2020 with LI 2420 . It has a total land area of about 531 sq. km. The Municipality is located between latitude 6°S-7° North 0° -1 °W.  Akatsi is the administrative capital.

The Municipality is bounded to the south by the Keta Municipal, to the east by the Ketu North Municipal, to the north by North Tongu District to the west, Agotime Ziope District and the Republic of Togo to complete the demarcation of the Akatsi Municipal.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 92,494 with 43,062 males and 49,432 females.