Upper Manya Krobo District Assembly forms part of the thirty two (32) Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region of Ghana.

It covers a total estimated surface area of 1,343 square kilometers of the total area of Eastern Region.

The Administrative capital of the District is Asesewa

The District shares boundaries with Lower Manya Krobo District to the south and Fanteakwa North District to the west respectively, to the east with Asuogyaman District, and to the north with Kwahu Afram Plains South District assembly.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 72,092 with 36,500 males and 35,592 females.