Nsawam Adoagyire Municipal forms part of the twenty six (26) Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region of Ghana.

The Administrative Capital of the Municipality is Nsawam.

The Municipality was formerly Akuapim South.

The municipal shares boundaries with Ga west Municipal to the south, to the north and west with kraboa-Coaltar District and to the east with Akwapim South District. 

The population of the municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 86,000 with 42,733 males and 43,267 females.