Kwahu Afram Plains South District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the thirty three (33) Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region.

The District is located between Latitudes 6o 40I N and 70 10’1 N; longitudes 0O 40I E and 0o 10I E; at the North-Western corner of Eastern Region with a total land area of approximately 3,051 sq km.

The Kwahu Afram Plains South District is bounded to the north by the Kwahu Afram Plains North District, to the south by Kwahu South District, to the east by the Volta River and to the west by two districts in the Ashanti Region precisely Sekyere East District and Ashanti Akim North Municipal.

The Administrative Capital of the District Tease was carved from Kwahu North District and forms part of the new districts and municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The population of the district according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 74,002 with 39,423 males and 34,579 females.