The Tano South Municipal was carved from the Tano District which had Bechem as its capital. By Legislative Instrument LI 1765 of 2004, the Tano District was split into two.

Tano South Municipal which maintained Bechem as its capital and Tano North with Duayaw Nkwanta as the capital. Tano South Municipal has 39 electoral areas, 5 area councils and 2 town councils with the Municipal Chief Executive as the political head.

The Municipality lies in the southern part of the Brong Ahafo Region between latitudes 7º00”N and 7º25” N and longitudes 1º45” W and 2º15” W.

The Municipality is bordered to the north and east by the Offinso Municipal and Ahafo-Ano South Districts. On the south by the Ahafo-Ano North Municipal and on its west and south-west by Tano North Municipal. It covers an area of 489.0 square kilometres.

The Municipal capital, Bechem, is on the Sunyani-Kumasi first class road (asphalt) and about 54 km from Sunyani and 76 km from Kumasi.

The population of the Municipality according to the 2010 Population and Housing Census stands at 78,129 with 38,299 males and 39,830 females