The Banda District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 12 of Municipalities and Districts in the Bono Region

Banda District with its capital Banda Ahenkro was carved from Tain District and forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The Banda District lies within latitudes 7o and 8o 45` north and longitudes 2o 52` and 0o 28` west. In terms of land area, the district covers a total of 2,073 square kilometres out of the region’s size of 39,558 square kilometers.

The District shares boundaries with the Bole District (Savannah Region) to the north, Tain District to the south, La Cote d’Ivoire to the east and Kintampo South District to the west.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 28,179 with 14,813 males with 13,133 females.