Mpohor District with its Administrative capital Mpohor was carved from Mpohor Wassa and forms part of the new districts and Municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The District forms part of twenty three (23) Metropolitan, Municipalities and Districts in the Western Region of Ghana.

It is bounded on the west by Ahanta West District, east by Wassa East District, north-west by Tarkwa-Nsueam Municipal and Shama District. The District covers a total land area of 524.533 square kilometers. 

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 42,923 with 21,486 males and 21,437 females.