The Tamale Metropolitan Assembly (TMA) is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 16 MMDAs in the Northern Region.

The Tamale Metropolitan Assembly was elevated to the status of Metropolis in 2004. Tamale is the capital of the Metropolis and it lies between latitude 9.16° and 9.34° North and longitudes 00.36°and 00.57.

Tamale Metropolitan is located in the central part of the Northern Region and is approximately 180 metres above sea level. The topography is generally rolling with some shallow valleys which serve as stream courses. There are also some isolated hills but these do not inhibit physical development.

The Metropolis shares boundaries with Savelugu Municipality to the north, Yendi Municipal Assembly to the east, Tolon District to the west, Central Gonja District to the south-west and East Ganja Municipal to the south.

The population of the Metropolis according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 374,744  with 185,051 males and 189,693 females.