The Sagnarigu Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 16 MMDAs in the Northern Region.

Sagnarigu Municipal was carved from Tamale and inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012 by Legislative Instrument (LI) 2066.

The Municipality lies between latitudes 9º16’ and 9º 34’ North and longitudes 0º 36’ and 0º 57’ West with its Administrative capital Sagnerigu and covers a total land size of 454 km².

The Municipality shares boundaries with the Savelugu Municipal to the north, Tamale Metropolis to the south and east, Tolon District to the west and Kumbungu District to the north-west.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 341,711 with 170,199 males and 171,512 females.