Mamprugu Moagduri District with its capital Yagaba was carved from West Mamprusi and forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The district is located within longitudes 0°35’W and 1°45’W and Latitude 9°55’N and 10°35’N.

It shares boundaries with North Gonja District to the west, Kumbungu District to the south, Sissala East Municipal in the Upper West Region, Builsa South in the Upper East Region and West Mamprusi District in the Northern Region. It has a total land size of 2,121.31 sq kilometers.

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 46,894 with 23,439 males and 23,455 females.