Kumbugu District with its capital Kumbugu was carved from Tolon-Kumbugu and forms part of the new districts and municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June with with L. I. 2062.

The District shares boundaries to the north with Mamprugu/Moagduri District, Tolon and North Gonja Districts to the west, Sagnerigu District to the south and Savelugu Municipal to the east. The district has a total land mass of 1,599sqkm 

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 39,341 with 19,686 males and 19,655 females.