The Accra Metropolitan is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region.

With its Administrative capital as Accra and located at the southern part of Ghana, the Accra Metropolitan was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I) 2034 and covers an area of 173 sq km.

The Metro shares common boundaries with La-Dade Kotokpon Municipal from the east and Ga West Municipal, Ga Central Municipal and Ga South Municipal Assemblies from the west. The Metropolitan Assembly also share common boundary with the Gulf of Guinea.

The population of the Metropolitan according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 284,124 with 134,045 males and 150,079 females.