The Yilo Krobo Municipal Assembly is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of forms the thirty three (33) Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region.

It covers a total estimated surface area of 511 square kilometers of the total area of Eastern Region and its administrative capital is Somanya.

The Municipal shares boundaries with New Juaben South Municipal and Akuapem North Municipal to the west respectively, to the east with Lower Manya Krobo Municipal, to the north with Fanteakwa North District and to the south with Shai Osudoku District.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 122,705 with 59,656 males and 63,049 females