The Districts in the Colony that were located in the Eastern Region were the Akwapem-New Juaben and Birim which respectively had two and four native authorities. These Districts still belong to the Eastern Region of today but other areas have been added at different times after independence. There are 21 districts in the region today.

The Eastern Region occupies a land area of 19,323 kilometres and constitutes 8.1 per cent of the total land area of Ghana. It is the sixth largest region in terms of land area. It lies between latitudes 6o and 7o North and between longitudes 1o30’ West and 0o30’ East. The region shares common boundaries with the Greater Accra, Central, Ashanti, Brong Ahafo and Volta Regions.

Brief History

The Eastern Region was part of the British Colony, one of the three administrative areas of the then Gold Coast until independence. The other two administrative areas were Ashanti and Northern Territories. The administrative areas were divided into Districts and the Districts were also divided into native authorities.
Native authorities during the colonial regime corresponded to what were known as states or traditional areas and were headed by paramount chiefs (Census Office 1962).

The population of the region according to 2010 Population and Housing Census stands at 2,633,154 with 1,290,539 male and 1,342,615 female.