Governance (Political and Administrative Structure)

The Keta Municipal Assembly is the highest administrative and political authority in the District. The legislative and deliberative organ of the Assembly is made up of Seventy-four (74) Assembly Members including one (1) Municipal Chief Executive and two (2) Members of Parliament. Fifty (50) are elected Assembly Members made up of 47 males and 3 females and Twenty-one (21) government appointees which comprises of 15 males and 6 females.


 The Members of Parliament and the Municipal Chief Executive are non-voting members of the General Assembly. There are two (2) constituencies in the Municipality which are Anlo and Keta Constituencies. There are 14 Zonal Councils and fifty (50) electoral areas. The Presiding Member is the leader of the General Assembly.

An Executive Committee chaired by the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) performs the executive and administrative functions of the Assembly. The executive, however, excludes the Presiding Member (PM) of the Assembly and operates through the following mandated Sub-committees: Development Planning, Justice and Security; Works, Finance and Administration and Social Service. These sub-committees are responsible for deliberation on specific issues and submitting recommendations to the Executive Committee for onward submission to the General Assembly for ratification.

The Municipal Coordinating Director (MCD) heads the Directorate and it is established to provide secretariat and advisory services to the Executive Committee and the General Assembly in its planning, programming and budgeting functions. The Municipal Planning Officer (MPO) at the Municipal Planning Coordinating Unit (MPCU) undertakes the planning functions, whilst the Budgeting Unit is headed by a Budget Analyst.

By Section 38 and the first schedule of the Local Government Act, Act 462, the following decentralized departments exist: Central Administration; Finance; Education, Youth and Sports; Health; Agriculture; Physical Planning; Social Welfare and Community Development; Works, Disaster Prevention Department, Natural resources, Game and Wild Life Department, Feeder Roads and Urban Roads.

In addition to the above, there are a number of non-decentralized departments, boards, company and quasi para-statal currently operating at various levels in the Municipality.

They are: Internal Revenue, Ghana Post, Ghana Telecom, Ghana Police Service, Ghana Commercial Bank, Anlo Rural Bank, Electricity Company of Ghana, Electoral Commission, Commission on Human Right and Administrative Justice, National Commission for Civic Education, National Service Secretariat, Audit Service, Ghana Highway Authority etc.


Sub- District Structures

The Municipal Assembly has fourteen (14) Zonal Councils namely Anloga, Keta, Dzelukope, Tegbi, Woe, Whuti-Srogboe, Dzita-Anyanui, Kome, Shime, Anyako, Tsiame-Asadame, Atiavi, Washa-Wego and Anlo-Afiadenyigba. These Sub-district structures are not able to carry out the functions assigned them by L.I. 1589 effectively and sometimes their performance is usually below expectation. The inability of the Sub district-structures to function properly is due to financial, logistical and human resource capacity problems. The relevant staff required to manage the operations of these councils are not fully present. The few staff available to manage these locals council has very little training to guide them in their day to day operations.


Date Created : 10/14/2019 8:06:23 AM