Relevant Data

Location and Size

The district lies between longitudes 10 60 W and 10 45 E and latitudes 70 20 N and 60 50 S. The total land area is about 741 kilometres square. It shares boundaries with the Techiman Municipal Assembly in the North, the Sunyani Municipal Assembly in the West, the Ejura Sekyeredumasi District Assembly in the East and the Offinso Municipal Assembly in the South; the others are the Nkoranza South District Assembly in the Northeast, the Wenchi District Assembly in the Northwest, the Tano North and South District Assemblies in the Southwest. The South-North Trans-West African Highway traverses the district, thus making it the main gateway to the Ashanti Region from the northern part of the country. Some of these District and Municipal Assemblies that share common boundaries with the Offinso North District Assembly are in the Brong Ahafo Region.


It lies in the semi-equatorial climatic zone and experiences a double maxima rainfall regime. The first rainfall season starts from April to June, whilst the second period starts from September and ends in October. The mean annual rainfall is between 125cm and 180cm. The dry season is quite pronounced and occurs between the months of November and March. Relative humidity is generally high ranging between 75-80 per cent in the rainy season and 70-72 per cent in the dry season. A maximum temperature of 30o C is experienced between March and April. The mean monthly temperature is about 720 C.


The Offinso North District Assembly lies in the moist semi-deciduous forest zone which is interspersed with thick vegetation cover. However, there is the vast emergence of guinea savannah and this is most prevalent in areas such as Afrancho, Akumadan, Nkenkaasu and Nsenoa.

Date Created : 11/29/2017 2:25:00 AM