The District Assembly

The local administration of the district lies in the hands of the District Assembly. The Assembly has a total of 71 Members with 48 Elected and 23 appointed. Out of the 71 members 63 Are males and 8. Are females. This is a clear indication of the low participation of women in local governance. Even though this is a national phenomenon, the district is embarking on intensive education on the need for women to be actively involved in local governance.

By law, the Assembly meets at least 3 times a year upon a call to meeting by the Honourable Presiding Member. The Assembly has 8 Sub committees. These are 

  • Justice and security
  • Development planning
  • Finance and Administration
  • Environmental
  • Social services
  • Agricultural
  • Public Relations and Complaints
  • Works

All these sub-committees report to the Executive Committee.

The District Administration

At the district administration level, there are 10 decentralized departments, that work hand in hand with the central administration for the overall development of the district. The following Decentralized Departments as prescribed by the Act 462 can be found in the District with the exception of Natural Resource Conservation, Forestry, Game and Wildlife Division and Trade and Industry.

  • General Administration
  • Finance
  • Education, Youth & sports
  • Agriculture
  • Physical (Spatial) Planning
  • Social Welfare and Community Development
  • District Health Department
  • Works
  • Disaster Prevention

These Departments need to be strengthened with the requisite staff and the needed logistics for a concentrated development of the entire district.
Sub-District Structures (SDS)

The district has 3 Town councils, 9 Area councils and 141 unit committees with 48 electoral areas and 2 constituencies.

Traditional Set Up

Traditionally, the district has only one paramountcy. This is the Agona Traditional Authority. The remaining communities serve under other paramountcies found in the region. These include Mampong, Ejisu etc.


There are five (5) police stations in the district. Ttwo(2) of them fall under the Agona Divisional Command , Two (2) under the Offinso Divisional Command and One (1) Under the Mampong Divisional Command. The police stations are in

  • Tetrem
  • Boamang
  • Agona
  • Jamasi
  • Kona

Under  DISEC, the District  provides support to the police for its day to day activities. Again, under the Youth Employment Programme (YAP), selected youths are being recruited to support the police in its community protection exercise.


In its bid to develop the needed transparency and accountability among  both change agents and agents of changed, some  structures that will bring about transparency and accountability has been legalized. Prominent among these is the public procurement, which is to be done under the Procurement Act. For accountability and transparency, the following committees have been established, as per the Public Procurement Act, to oversee procurement in the district

  • District Tender Committee
  • District Tender Review Committee
  • Purchasing Committee
  • Tender Evaluation Committee

Citizenry Participation

For effective development in the district, there is the need for citizenry participation in decision making and implementation. Currently, the only NGO which sees to whip citizenry participation in decision making is the Afigya Sekyere Civic Union. They see to the dissemination of the District development agenda.

Again, the district involves the citizens in development decision making and implementation through for instance community durbars to select key members in community committees like WATSAN and the payment of Community Counterpart Fund for development.


Date Created : 11/24/2017 5:11:11 AM