Political authority

The East Gonja Municipal Assembly was established by legislative instrument (li) 1451 of 3rd December, 1988, is the highest political and administrative authority in the Municipality. 

The assembly has forty-eight (48) members; made up of thirty-five (35) elected and thirteen (13) appointed. There is one Member of Parliament in the Municipality who serves as ex-officio member to the district assembly.

The assembly has one (1) town council and five (5) area councils and forty eight (48) unit committees in 293 communities.

Sub-District Structures

The East Gonja Municipal Assembly has constructed office structures for all the 6 town/area councils in the district area council staff comprising the Secretary, Treasurer and, revenue collector are appointed for all the 6 area council, in addition, the offices were equipped with furniture, type writers and cardboards the assembly has also constituted all the councils. 

All area councils have also opened and are operating bank accounts. Unit committees in the Municipality are constituted and are functioning. Payments of ac staff still remain unresolved. Acs staff as well as member has received training and capacity building in various fields. Acs have no any means of transport to support revenue mobilization as well as the administration of the areas.

Department of the assembly with the enactment of the local government act 1993, act 462, there ought to have been eleven departments (known as decentralized departments) established at the assembly level. 

All the departments are present in the district even though not all are having the full complement of staff.
The departments are:
i.     Central administration
ii.    Department of education, youth and sports
iii.   Department of health
iv.   Department of finance
v.    Works  department
vi.   Department of agriculture
vii.  Social welfare and community development
viii. Physical planning department
ix.   Department of trade and industry
x.    Disaster prevention and management
xi.   Natural resources conservation and forestry department

Other Public Institutions

The other public institutions not decentralized and operating in the district are:

i.      Ghana police service
ii.     Judicial service
iii.    Prisons service 
iv.    Bureau of national investigations
v.     National commission for civic education
vi.    Electoral commission
vii.   Volta river authority
viii.  Ghana meteorological services dept.
ix.    Ghana postal services

For all these departments and organization that are established in the Municipality, they are constraint in terms of human resource and or logistics to carry-out their mandates.

(c)    Non-governmental organizations in the Municipality

Traditional Authority

The East Gonja Municipal forms part of the Gonja traditional council with the king (the Yagbonwura) as the president, with his headquarters at Damongo in the West Gonja Municipality. There are five paramountcies in Gonja land which ascend to the position of the king (Yagbonwura) on rotational basis. One of such paramountcies is located in the east GONJA Municipality, that is, the Kpembewura.

There are also some divisional chiefs who are answerable to the Yagbonwura. All the divisional chiefs have sub-chiefs under them.

Date Created : 11/18/2017 3:16:41 AM