Political Administration

Assin South District has one constituency, 25 electoral areas, 86 unit committees and six area councils. There are 36 Assembly members who are made up of 25 elected members and 11 government appointees. There is also a Member of Parliament who is an ex-officio member of the district assembly and has no voting right at the assembly‚Äôs sitting. Assembly is empowered with legislative, deliberative and executive functions within the district. There is a Presiding Member who is elected from among the assembly members and chairs all Assembly meetings and Public Relations and Complaints committee (PRCC).

The Assembly has five statutory sub- committees namely, Justice and Security, Economic Planning, Works, Finance and Administration and Social Services.There is an Executive committee which includes the District Chief Executive and the chairpersons of the various sub-committees. It reviews the work of the subcommittees before the General Assembly meeting. The Executive Committee excludes the Presiding Member and it is chaired by the District Chief Executive. This modern democratic administration works alongside the traditional political structures from the community to the paramouncy levels.


Date Created : 11/15/2017 2:29:49 AM