Political Administration

The District Assembly has the overall responsibility of the local government administration of the District. It exercises administrative authority, provide guidance and give direction on how scarce resources are managed in the district. The District Chief Executive (DCE) is responsible for the day to day executive and administrative functions of the assembly and is the chief representative of the Central Government.

He is appointed by the President with the prior approval of not less than two-thirds majority of the members of the Assembly present and voting at the meeting. The DCE is assisted by the District Co-ordinating Director (DCD) who heads the district bureaucracy and is Secretary to the Assembly. Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa District Assembly consists of (46) Hon. Members of which 13 are government appointees. There are Thirty-three (33) Electoral Areas with only One (1) Constituency.

The Assembly itself has 8 Town and Area Councils which are supported by 71 unit committees.The unit committees are consultative bodies at the grassroots and are in close contact with, and organize, the people for communal labour, revenue mobilization and maintenance of environmental sanitation and other activities. The Organizational Chart showing the structure, decision making and reporting relations in the district.

Date Created : 11/14/2017 3:22:37 AM