Kwahu West Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 33 Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region.

The Municipality lies between latitudes 6°30’ North, and 7° North and longitudes 0°30’ West and 1° West of the equator, covering an area of about 414 square kilometers.

The Administrative Municipal capital, Nkawkaw, is located about 241 kilometers North-West of Accra.

The Municipal is bounded to the north by the Kwahu South District, to the west by Asante Akim South District. To the east, it is bounded by the Fanteakwa North District and to the south by Birim North and Atiwa West Districts.

The population of the municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 93,584 with 44,875 males and 48,709 females.