Ayensuano District forms part of the twenty six (26) Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region of Ghana. 

With its Administrative capital Coaltar was carved from Suhum-Kraboa-Coaltar and forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The District shares boundaries with West Akim to the west and south respectively, to the East with Nsawam Adoagyire Municipal and to the north with the mother District Suhum Municipal.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 77,193 with 38,440 males and 38,753 females.