The Ayawaso North Municipal Assembly is carved out of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded districts Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2315, the Ayawaso  North Municipal Assembly has its capital as Accra New Town.

Was inaugurated on March  15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.