The Zabzugu District, formerly called Zabzugu-Tatale District is one of the 28 Municipalities and Districts in the Northern Region.

The district was carved out of the former East Dagomba District (Yendi) in 1988 by PNDC Law 207, (Act 462), and in 2012 the district became one of the newly created districts due to the carving out of Tatale/Sanguli District with LI 2053.

The Zabzugu District is one of the eastern corridor districts in the Northern Region of Ghana, with Zabzugu as the district capital.

It is located in the eastern part of the Northern Region and covers an area of 1,100.1sqKm2.

It shares boundaries with Tatale/Sanguli District to the east,Yendi Municipality to the west, Nanumba North Municipal to the south, and the Soboba District to the north.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 63,815 with 31,306 males and 32,509 females.