The East Mamprusi Municipal was established by Legislative Instrument (LI) 1776 (2004) with the capital located at Gambaga and it covers a land mass of 1,706.8 square kilometers.

It is one of the oldest Municipality in the Northern Region. Out of it, the West Mamprusi District was carved in 1988. In 2004, the Bunkpurugu Nyankpanduri District was also created to promote developments. It therefore served as the parent District for West Mamprusi and Bunkpurugu Nyankpanduri Districts.

The East Mamprusi Municipal is located in the north-eastern part of the Northern Region. To the north, it shares boundaries with Talensi and Nabdam Districts, Bawku West and Garu Districts, all in the Upper East Region and to the east is the Bunkpurugu Nyankpanduri District. It is bordered in the west by the West Mamprusi District and to the south by the Gushegu Municipla and Karaga Districts. 

The population of the Municipality according to 2010 Population and Housing Census stands at  121,009 with 59,453 males and 61,556 females.