The Asokore Mampong Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 43 of MMDAs in the Ashanti Region.

The Municipality was carved out of the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly on June 29th, 2012 was established by Legislative Instrument, (L.I) 2112.

With the Administrative Capital as Asokore Mampong, the Municipality covers a total land area of 23.91 km2 and it is located to the north-eastern part of the Kumasi Metropolis.

The Municipality shares boundaries with Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly (KMA) to the east, south and west, Kwabre East Municipal to the north-west and Ejisu Municipal to the south-east.

Although a small land size, the Municipality according to the 2021 Population and Housing Census stands at  191,402 with 10 electoral areas namely; Aboabo No.1, Aboabo No.2, Adukrom, Akurem, Asokore Mampong, Sawaba, Asawasi, New Zongo, Sepe-Tinpom and Akwatialine Electoral Areas with 93,506 males 97,896 females.