Map is not available

The District is located in the South-Eastern part of the Volta Region. It was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I) 2086 has a total land area of about 960.445 sq. km. The total land under cultivation is about 51,438.12 hectares.

The District is bounded to the South by the Keta Municipal, to the East by the Ketu North District: to the North by North Tongu Districts to the West, Adaklu Anyigbe District and the Republic of Togo to complete the demarcation of the Akatsi District. The District is located between latitude 6° S - 7° North 0° W - 1 ° W. Akatsi is the administrative capital.

The population of the municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 95,426 with 44,039 males and 51,387 females.